Karnataka Corporation Elections results 2013: Congress wins, ruling BJP pushed to 3rd place

March 11, 2013, By Sanjeev

In the pre-assembly polls for which counting was done on March 11, the opposition Congress in Karnataka overthrew all other parties and showed their strength by gaining support from more than 1800 wards.  See the election results here.

The result has come as a serious blow to both Yeddyurappa’s party as well as the BJP as this might be the projection of the election that is yet to come and no one thought of Congress securing this much importance among the public.

Karnataka Corporation Elections results 2013: Congress wins, ruling BJP pushed to 3rd placeYeddyurappa, who quit BJP late last year and floated the Karnataka Janatha Paksha, seems to have put in all his efforts in vain.

Follow the election results live on Suvarna News live TV here.

KJP and BSR Congress, testing the political waters for the first time, won 250-plus and 77 wards, respectively, while independents with a whopping 625 wards, are bound to play a key part in the ULBs which have thrown up a hung verdict.

Elections to 207 ULBs that consists of 7 city corporations, 43 city municipal corporations, 65 town municipal councils and 92 town panchayats were held on 7th March, and their outcome was considered a pointer to the Assembly elections that is going to get commenced in May.

The Congress won the city corporations of Davanagere, Mangalore and Bellary. The Karnataka Janatha Paksha of former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa bagged 197 wards, while BSR Congress of former BJP minister B Sriramulu was victorious in 47.

In the last elections to ULBs in 2007, out of the total 5007 wards, the Congress had come first winning 1606, followed by JDS 1502 and the BJP 1180.

Candidates had won in 85 wards unopposed, while there was no nomination in one ward in Chikkaballapur city municipal council, leading to elections in 4867 wards in all. In Mysore, of 65 seats, the BJP has managed to win only 11, while the Congress and JD(S) have won 15 seats each.



Related reading